Our Team


Laurie Bishop — Director

Bethany Steinken — Program Support Coordinator

Katy Johnson — Communications & Database Coordinator, 2020-2021 Americorps VISTA

Steering Council

The work of the Montana Afterschool Alliance is guided by a Steering Council comprised of a diverse group of stakeholders, reaching every region of our state and representing a wide range of backgrounds, including providers, business, education, health, government, Indian Country, and nonprofits.

Heather Margolis (President)Executive Director, Montana Education Partnership

Brian Dennis (Past President)Chief Professional Officer, Boys & Girls Club of Yellowstone County

Joe Hicks — Director of Afterschool Initiative, Montana State University

Patty Butler (Ex Officio)Chief of Early Childhood Services Bureau, MT Department of Public Health and Human Services

Dennis Parman — Montana Rural Education Association

Tom Franta (Fiscal Sponsor Representative)School Services of Montana

Nicole Mitchell — Program Manager, The Flagship Program

Matthew Johnson — Browning Public Schools

Michelle Cusey (Ex Officio)21st CCLC Program Manager, Office of Public Instruction

Annie Baur — MSU Extension 4-H Center for Youth Development

Emily Dean — Director of Government Relations, Montana School Boards Association

Veronica Willeto — 21st CCLC Grants Coordinator, Lodge Grass Public Schools


School Services of Montana serves as the fiscal sponsor for the Montana Afterschool Alliance.